| The new Waze Wiki, aka Wazeopedia, is now live at Wazeopedia.waze.com! While this legacy wiki will remain accessible for the time being, it is no longer updated by the community. For the most up-to-date guidance, please visit your local Wazeopedia.
Please do not make any more updates to these legacy wiki pages, all future updates should be made in your country's local Wazeopedia.
In real edit mode (logged in), you can make changes with your Editable Area. Your editable area consists of:
- The roads you have driven recently (see note below).
- Areas within a certain distance of those roads. How far this distance extends depends on your editing rank.
- Areas in which you are the Area Manager, a privilege you can request if you are at least rank 3. You can edit your assigned area, even if you have not driven a road nearby recently.
You can highlight your editable area on the map by turning on the layer for Editable Area.
Some roads within your editable area may have further restrictions. Review all the sections of the Editing restrictions page for more information.
Waze records your drives when it is operating with or without navigating to a destination. You can see a history of those drives in the editor. Make sure you have no roads or landmarks selected, and click the Drives link in the side panel.
Short drives are usually added to the Drives list almost immediately. Longer drives may take a day or two to appear.
After a certain period of time, these drives expire. They may still show in your drives list, but Waze will no longer remember the drive details, and the editing area will be removed, unless there is a more recent drive.
You can tell the difference between recent drives and expired drives in the Drives panel. Recent drives are a clickable link which will show the path of the drive. Expired drives show the summary (date, elapsed time, length), but you can't click them.
Editable Area expiration
An editable area will expire 90 days from date of the drive OR the last day of the month, whichever is LATER.