| The new Waze Wiki, aka Wazeopedia, is now live at Wazeopedia.waze.com! While this legacy wiki will remain accessible for the time being, it is no longer updated by the community. For the most up-to-date guidance, please visit your local Wazeopedia.
Please do not make any more updates to these legacy wiki pages, all future updates should be made in your country's local Wazeopedia.
You can see your own editing rank next to your name on the top right corner of the page. If that is not visible, check a segment you have edited and your rank will show next to your username in the segment properties.
|-1||System, or Basemap import|
|2|| Area Manager
|3|| Over 50,000 edits
|4||Over 100,000 edits|
When an editor locks a segment, it currently has two functions:
- Automatic adjustments
- Editing ability
A locked segment will not be changed by GPS tracks both in terms of geometry and directionality.
Segment Editing ability
A locked segment cannot be changed by an editor of a rank lower than that of the locking editor, or the rank of the editor who last edited the segment. The rank is locked based on the last person to edit the segment, and not the user who created it.
You can edit segments based on your editing rank and Editable area. Once a segment is locked, only a user with the same (or higher) rank, or an Area Manager whose area includes that segment, can edit the segment again.
Speed cameras editing ability
The last person to edit the speed cam is basically locking it to his rank. A user with a lower rank will not be able to change / delete the camera, unless he is the owner of the camera or if it's in his area of management.
A junction is considered to be locked when all segments which connect to that junction are locked.
Area Managers can override any locked segments, even if a segment is locked by an editor of higher rank