| The new Waze Wiki, aka Wazeopedia, is now live at Wazeopedia.waze.com! While this legacy wiki will remain accessible for the time being, it is no longer updated by the community. For the most up-to-date guidance, please visit your local Wazeopedia.
Please do not make any more updates to these legacy wiki pages, all future updates should be made in your country's local Wazeopedia.
Ranks de Edição
There are many aspects of editing related to an editors rank and permissions that will control what can be changed on the map and how editors after them will be affected. Be sure to understand this information to be best prepared when editing the map.
There are many ranking systems in Waze. Each one is used for a different purpose. See this other page for more detailed information on the other ranking systems. The below information is only covering Editing Rank.
The information below about points, ranks, and promotion applies to most countries. Please check for any additional information about your country. In particular, countries with rank Self-Management may have very different ranking systems.
If you are NOT in a rank Self-Managed country and you have met the criteria for promotion, please contact Waze Support to request promotion. If you are in a rank Self-Managed country, please read your country-specific information to learn about rank promotion. Note: This information was last changed as of July 2014[update]. Future changes are still in discussion.
|Description||Rank in Cones in WME||Editable Area Radius||Notes|
|Admin, System, or Basemap import||N/A (staff)||N/A||Includes segments which have not been created or edited by an actual user, but exist from the initial data import (called the basemap) will show this information.|
|Area Manager||N/A||N/A||Area Managers (AM) can edit anything within their assigned area except objects locked by higher-level editors. Editors of any Rank can be granted AM rights, however in some countries there may be a minimum requirement before Area Managers are approved. Read the Area Manager section in the Wiki first before applying for an AM.|
|New users||1||1 mile||All users start in this group, unless they are a member of one of the other groups listed|
|Editors with 3K edits or IGN editors||2||2 miles||IGN Map editors are an extension of the Waze Geo-Ops (aka the Map Team)|
|Editors with 25K edits||3||3 miles||Editors with 25K edits. Note: Some IGN Map editors may also be rank 3.|
|Editors with 100K edits||4||4 miles||Need to contact Support for upgrading the level.|
|Editors with 250K edits||5||4 miles||Need to contact Support for upgrading the level.|
|Waze Champs or over 500K edits||6||N/A||Many Waze Champs will hold this rank to assist the Waze Staff in managing security in road locks. Also if other editors reach 500K edits, they can request moving up to this rank.|
|Over 500K edits and granted country-wide editing rights||6||Country-wide||Once you reach 500K map edits, you can separately request through Support that you be granted country wide editing rights for the server on which you participate. This is not a separate editing rank, but the old rank system used that term to refer to country managers (CM). In some countries with rank self management you will also need approval from the other CMs. In smaller countries with no current CM, you can request CM status at a lower rank and if appropriate you may be granted.|
|Waze admins||STAFF||Unlimited||Currently only paid Waze employees|
Many editors will include an image of their editing rank in their signature line. A number of editing rank images have been saved in the Wiki for your easy link access.
When an editor locks a segment, it currently has two functions, both controlling:
- Automatic adjustments
- Editing ability
In the past, many segments were locked for other reasons that no longer exist, but the segments do not get changed unless they are edited again and the editor removes the lock.
A locked segment will not be changed by GPS tracks both in terms of geometry and directionality. In the past the Waze server was altering road directionality based on a few GPS inputs. So editors were locking segments to stop those automated changes. Now the Waze server requires much more GPS tracking to prevent false readings, so most editors no longer lock segments for this reason.
Segment Editing ability
A locked segment cannot be changed by an editor of a rank lower than that of the locking editor, or the rank of the editor who last edited the segment. The "locking rank" is based on the last person to edit the segment, and not the user who created it.
You can edit segments based on your editing rank and Editable area. Once a segment is locked, only a user with the same (or higher) rank can edit the segment again. This includes turn restrictions from any segment attached to a junction which also has a locked segment connected to it.
There are many cases where a segment (or connected junction) may need to be edited by a lower rank editor. For that reason there are two methods to unlock segments (and junctions).
- Send a private message to the last editor of the locked segment explaining why you need to unlock and change the segment. Most higher ranked editors will help you with the problem.
- Alternately you can post a forum message in the unlock request forum. Be sure to have the location of the segment listed in the title of the message. Also include a permalink with all desired segments highlighted to make it fast and easy for the higher ranked editor monitoring that forum to make the change.
In both cases be sure to explain the reason for the desired unlock request. Many segments were locked in the past for reasons that are no longer present. However, high traffic areas are locked to prevent less experienced editors from making changes that would cause problems or do not follow the generally agreed mapping procedures.
A junction is considered to be locked when any segment which is connected to that junction is locked. A locked junction cannot have its restrictions or allowances edited. See above for information on unlock requests for segments (which control junctions).
Speed cameras editing ability
The last person to edit the speed cam is basically locking it to their rank. A user with a lower rank will not be able to change / delete the camera, unless they are the owner of the camera or if it's in their area of management.
Area Managers (AMs)can edit any unlocked objects within their defined area. This includes overriding a lock on an object of a lower-ranking editor. AMs cannot override anything locked by an editor of a higher rank. When necessary the AM can private message the last editor to ask them to unlock it or post a permalink to the unlock request forum (discussed above).
A growing list of Area Managers and their preferred contact details can be found here.